It is that time of year that everyone starts hitting the lakes and rivers for that summertime water fun. Please remember that unfortunate accidents can occur while on our lakes and rivers and we ask you to please take precautions and have safety measures in place.
Arkansas State Law requires a boater safety card to operate a vessel in Arkansas Waterways. Anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1986, and of legal age to operate a motorboat or sailboat, must have successfully completed an approved AGFC Boating Education Course and carry proof while operating a motorboat or sailboat on Arkansas water. To operate a motorboat powered by an engine of 10 horsepower or more, a person must be 12 or older, or be under the direct supervision of a person at least 18 years old. To operate a personal watercraft, a person must be 16 or older, be 12 to 15 years old and be under the direct supervision of a person at least 18 years old or be under 12 and be under the direct supervision of a person at least 21 years old. Remember to always use Life Jackets!
Watch out for kids running around in the camping and swimming areas, drive the speed limit, and be extra cautious! As always, don’t operate your vehicle or boat while you have been drinking, the consequences can be devastating to you, your family, and/or someone else! There will be extra Sheriff’s Office patrols in and around the campgrounds for the added safety of our residents and out of town visitors as always for the season!
Boaters, campers, and hikers should always remember to secure your property from theft. Don’t leave your keys or fishing equipment on your boat unattended, every year we have thousands of dollars of fishing equipment and watercraft stolen from unsecured docks. Don’t be the victim of an avoidable crime!
Sheriff John Montgomery