Northeast Arkansas has numerous counties in the “red zone” for new COVID-19 cases, according to a White House Coronavirus Task Force .

Counties in the red zone according to the White House Coronavirus Task Force in our area include:
• Craighead• Greene• Mississippi• Independence• Lawrence• Jackson• Poinsett• Baxter• Izard• Clay• Fulton. NE Arkansas now leads the state in new cases according to the Arkansas Department Of Health.

844 total cases were announced on Tuesday by Governor Hutchinson, hospitalized patients increased by 24 to a record 637 currently hospitalized. 14 additional deaths were reported bringing the total deaths to 1576 statewide since March. There are currently 101 patients on ventilators at this time.

NE Arkansas’ growth rate for new cases was 8.3 % according to Governor Hutchinson, much higher than other regions.

Craighead County again made the state’s Top 5, ranked 4th for new cases with Greene close behind ranked 7th.